Four Stages of Leadership

1 min min read
Updated on December 3, 2020
Four Stages of Leadership

John Maxwell reminds us that there are 4 stages of leadership:

  1. Position – you got the job and you now have a title on your business card.  This does NOT mean that you’re anybody’s leader
  2. Permission – your team has to allow you to be the leader – give you permission.  If they don’t give it to you, you aren’t in charge whatever your business card says
  3. Production – your team has gotten something done better because you are the leader.  Now the team is starting to rock
  4. Personhood – People follow you because your amazing reputation precedes you.  You’re larger than life (think Steve Jobs).  An advanced form of leadership that few reach

The main lesson here is that a title doesn’t mean anything.  If you want to be the leader, you have to earn it by showing the people you care about them and the organization and that you’re for real.

Relying on titles is a game of pretend leadership for the weak.

Related Resources

Leave a Comment

Certificate in Leadership Fundamentals Starts at $499

Access to 10 of Getting People Right’s Flagship Courses:

  • Discovering and implementing core values
  • Enhancing your career through delegation
  • Building a one-page strategic business plan
  • Coaching based performance reviews
  • Using DISC Personality testing at work and home
  • Dealing with under performers
  • Learning the process to hire a-players
  • How to fire with minimum pain and drama
  • Objectively assessing your team
  • Building your personal annual plan
Start Learning Today